Kamasi Washington
Kamasi Washington | Photo by B+/ via Supplied

Kamasi Washington Announces New Album ‘Fearless Movement’ With A New Music Video

American musician Kamasi Washington has excited his fans by announcing a new album, “Fearless Movement,” which is set to be released on May 3rd via Young / Remote Control. He also released a new single from the album ‘ Prologue,’ along with a music video directed by AG Rojas.

This album is special in its focus on dance.“It’s not literal,”  Kamasi Washington says. “Dance is movement and expression, and in a way it’s the same thing as music—expressing your spirit through your body. That’s what this album is pushing.” 

Kamasi Washington – ‘Prologue’

“Fearless Movement” delves into the everyday experiences of life on Earth. This shift in focus is partly influenced by Washington becoming a father a few years back. “Being a father means the horizon of your life all of a sudden shows up,” says Kamasi Washington. “My mortality became more apparent to me, but also my immortality—realizing that my daughter is going to live on and see things that I’m never going to see. I had to become comfortable with this, and that affected the music that I was making.”

The album features a mix of collaborators, including his own daughter, who contributed to the melody of ‘Asha The First.’ Other collaborators include André 3000, George Clinton, BJ The Chicago Kid, and more.

One of the album’s tracks, ‘The Garden Path,’ made its debut on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon, marking Washington’s first-ever performance on late-night television.

Fans can now pre-order or pre-save Kamasi Washington’s “Fearless Movement” and listen to ‘Prologue’ on their favourite streaming platforms.

Fearless Movement Tracklist :

1. Lesanu

2. Asha The First featuring Thundercat, Taj Austin, Ras Austin

3. Computer Love featuring Patrice Quinn, DJ Battlecat, Brandon Coleman

4. The Visionary featuring Terrace Martin

5. Get Lit featuring George Clinton

6. Dream State featuring André 3000

7. Together featuring BJ the Chicago Kid

8. The Garden Path

9. Interstellar Peace (The Last Stance)

10. Road to Self (KO)

11. Lines in the Sand

12. Prologue

Pre-order the album via here

Further Reading

CLYPSO Announces EP ‘LIGHTS OUT’ And Releases New Single

Metal Drummer Musical Chairs? Jay Weinberg Officially Joins Suicidal Tendencies

Grammy-Nominated US Rapper Pell Announces Debut Australian Tour For 2024

Must Read